Family picking blueberries at a u-pick farm. Credit:  UF/IFAS Tyler Jones

The question of what happens to the family farm is often riddled with many emotional opinions.  So much so that families may not communicate effectively about their wishes or plans.  Many life events can change the dynamics of a family farm.  Whether marriage, children, divorce, illness, retirement or death, significant events can require a plan or a change in the transition plan.  Planning in advance of a crisis or significant life event increases the chances that the family farm will successfully transition to someone who is ready to carry on the family business.  Having a plan also can lead to clear communication that reduces the likelihood of family conflict and stress.  Yet, four out of five Florida farmers do not have written estate plans.

You can take steps to protect your family and your family farm by attending the University of Florida IFAS Extension workshop, “Ag Saves:  Preparing for Later Life Farming.”  This workshop will help you ensure that your wishes are honored when the time comes.

You and your partners are invited to learn together how to:

  • Discuss the future of the farm
  • Assess your future financial needs
  • Talk with local experts in financial planning, estate planning, and taxes

Join us for this complimentary program on Wednesday, February 21, 2018.  Lunch and materials will be provided.  Program sponsors include UF/IFAS Extension, U.S. Trust, Pacific Life, and Merrill Lynch.

Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m. Central Time/9:30 a.m. Eastern Time.

Program will begin at 9:00 a.m. Central/10:00 a.m. Eastern and conclude at 1:00 p.m. Central/ 2:00 pm. Eastern.

Register Online: http://bit.ly/2AOv0JC

Registration deadline: February 14, 2018.  Choose from 3 Locations in Northwest Florida: 

Okaloosa County Extension Office (host site)
3098 Airport Road
Crestview, FL
850-689-5850
Jennifer Bearden: bearden@ufl.edu

Jefferson County Extension Office (satellite site)
2729 W Washington Hwy.
Monticello, FL
850-342-0187
Julianne Shoup: juliannes@ufl.edu

Gadsden County Extension Office (satellite site)
2140 West Jefferson Street
Quincy, FL
850-875-7255
Laurie Osgood: osgoodlb@ufl.edu

Register online or contact Kendra Zamojski at hughson@ufl.edu for more info.