Print this Page

4-H Chick Chain

The 4-H Chick Chain is a program designed to help youth learn how to raise pullets (baby chicks) into mature production hens.  This program not only teaches youth responsibility, but also about ethical treatment of animals, biosecurity, record keeping and communication skills.  Youth will receive six pullets from two different breeds (a total of 12) in the spring, and raise them over the summer.  The culmination of this program is a show and optional auction at the end of September.  Members participate in workshops to learn how to care for their chicks, show their hens, and complete their record books.  This program is open to any 4-H member in the northwest district between the ages of 5-18 (as of September 1st, 2016).  Youth will complete project books and show according to their age as of of Sept 1, 2017.

Registration is open via 4HOnline through February 24th.  The registration fee is $50.00 for first time participants (those receiving pullets) and $5.00 for returning youth (those caring for and showing hens from a previous year). Siblings can share chicks.  See our timeline below for important project dates, including pick up and show information.  Contact your local UF IFAS Extension Office if you have questions or read more about last year’s program on our blog.

PROJECT RESOURCES

Chick Chain shirt contest-

PROJECT BOOKS

Project Book Score Card

Chick Chain Home Visit Form

Sample Showmanship Questions for Cloverbuds

Sample Showmanship Questions for Juniors

Sample Showmanship Questions for Intermediates

Sample Showmanship Questions for Seniors

Skill-a-thon Study Guide

IMPORTANT DATES:

February 1-24th- Registration open in 4HOnline

February 17th- Chick Chain T-shirt Design Contest entries due to your local 4-H Agent

TBA- Orientation Meeting 

March 29th- pick up your chicks at

May-August- Home visits with your 4-H Agent/ Chick Chain Volunteer Coordinator

Poultry Perfection Workshops- choose the most convenient location/date for your family:

  • June 2nd, at the Washington County Ag Center – 1424 Jackson Avenue, Chipley, Florida
  • Date TBA, at the North FL Fair Building  – 441 Paul Russell Rd,
    Tallahassee , Florida
  • Date TBA, at the Santa Rosa Extension Office
    Milton, Florida

August 17th – Webinar “Getting Ready for the Show” 6:30/5:30PM Central via video conference at your local Extension Office

September 11th- Record books and show forms due to your county extension office

September 30th- Chick Chain Show and Auction (check out our blog to see who won last year)

Questions?  Contact your 4-H Agent

Escambia Aly  Schortinghouse aschortinghouse@ufl.edu
Santa Rosa Prudence Caskey prudencecaskey@ufl.edu
Okaloosa Misty Smith mismith@ufl.edu
Walton Jena Brooks brooks15@ufl.edu
Holmes Niki Crawson ncrawson@ufl.edu
Washington Julie Pigott Dillard juliepd@ufl.edu
Jackson Angel Granger amgranger@ufl.edu
Bay Paula M. Davis pmdavis@ufl.edu
Calhoun Whitney Cherry cherryw@ufl.edu
Leon Stefanie Prevatt sduda1@ufl.edu
Liberty Monica Brinkley brinkley@ufl.edu
Gulf Melanie Taylor

 

metaylor@ufl.edu

 

Franklin
Wakulla Eric Westbrook ewestbrook@ufl.edu
Gadsden Yolanda Goode yygoode@ufl.edu
Jefferson John Lilly jgl@ufl.edu

GRAPHICS

Chick Chain Logo

Chick Chain Logo

Permanent link to this article: http://nwdistrict.ifas.ufl.edu/district-4h/4-h-chick-chain/